Presidents Trophy Boat Race

Presidents Trophy Boat Race

Started Year
: 2011
: Vallam Kali
Current Champion
: Anary

History Of Presidents Trophy Boat Race

The President's Trophy Boat Race (is a popular Vallam Kali held on the Ashtamudi lake in Kollam on November 1 every year.The day marks the birth of the Indian state of Kerala known as Kerala Piravi.

This is the most popular of the races to be held during the season of the harvest festival Onam in Autumn on ashtamudi lake in Kollam,the cashew paradise in Kerala.

There would be races in five categories, namely Chundan Vallam (snake-boats), two grades of Veppu Vallam, and two grades of Iruttukuthi Vallam. Sixteen snake-boats would compete in four heats.

The trophy had been instituted in the name of the President of India. President of India will be present to witness the race and would also give away the trophy and cash prize to the winning team.


  • Chief Patron: Hon. Chief Minister of Kerala
  • Chairman: District Collector of Kollam
  • General Convener: District Magistrate of Kollam
  • Mayor, Corporation of Kollam

Presidents Trophy Boat Race Archieve

2011-Sree Ganesh Chundan

2012-Jawahar Thayankari