Nehru Trophy Boat Race

Nehru Trophy Boat Race

Started Year
: 1952
: Vallam Kali
Current Champion
: Jawahar Thayankari

History Of Nehru Trophy Boat Race

The Nehru Trophy Boat Race is a popular Vallam Kali held in the Punnamada Lake near Alappuzha, Kerala, India. Vallam Kali or Vallamkali literally means boat play/game, but can be translated to boat race in English. The most popular event of the race is the competition of Chundan Vallams (snake boats). Hence the race is also known as Snake Boat Race in English. Other categories of boats which participate in various events of the race are Churulan Vallam, Iruttukuthy Vallam, Odi Vallam, Veppu Vallam (Vaipu Vallam), Vadakkanody Vallam and Kochu Vallam.

Jawaharlal Nehru, the first prime minister of Independent India visited Kerala in 1952. He was given a roaring reception by the people of Alleppey, escorted by the huge snake-boats. Having gone through the tremendous excitement of sailing in a snake-boat Jawaharlal Nehru donated a rolling trophy to be awarded to the winner of the race. The trophy is a replica of a snake-boat in silver, placed on wooden abacus on which the following words are inscribed.
To the winner of the boat-race which is a unique feature of community life in Travancore-Cochin.
The 100–120 foot long canoes made of a wood locally called "Aanjili thadi" carrying 90- 110 rowers which moves like a snake through the channels (hence the name), is an eye catching sight for any tourist. The Chundan Vallam also has the record as "the biggest water vessel used for sports purpose" .

Nehru Trophy Boat Race Archieve

1952-natubhagam chundan

1954-Kavalam Chundan

1955-Paarthasarathi Chundan

1956-Kavaalam chundan

1957-Neoplian Chundan

1958-Neoplian Chundan,Kavalam Chundan

1959-Neoplian Chundan

1960-Kavalam Chundan

1961-Neoplian Chundan

1962-Kavaalam chundan

1963-Kainakary chundan

1964-St. George Chundan

1965-Parthasarathi Chundan

1966-Pulinkunnu chundan

1967-Pulinkunnu chundan

1968-Parthasarathi Chundan

1969-Pulinkunnu chundan

1970-Kallooparamban chundan

1971-Kallooparamban chundan,Pulinkunnu chundan

1972-Kallooparamban chundan

1973-Kallooparamban & Karichal

1974-Karichal Chundan

1975-Karichal Chundan

1976-Karichal Chundan

1977-Jawahar chundan

1978-jawahar thayankari

1979-Aayaparambu Valiya Diwanji

1980-Karichal chundan

1982-Karichal chundan

1983-Karichal chundan

1984-Karichal chundan

1985-jawahar thayankari

1986-Karichal chundan

1987-Karichal chundan

1988-Vellamkulangara Chundan

1989-champakulam chundan

1990-champakulam chundan

1991-champakulam chundan

1992-Kallupramban chundan

1993-Kallupramban chundan

1994-champakulam chundan

1995-champakulam chundan

1996-champakulam chundan

1997-Alappat Chundan

1998-champakulam chundan

1999-Alappat Chundan

2000-Karichal chundan

2001-Karichal chundan

2002-Vellamkulangara chundan

2003-Karichal chundan

2004-Cheruthana chundan

2005-Payippad chundan

2006-Payippad chundan,

2007-Payippad chundan

2008-Karichal chundan

2009-Champakulam chundan

2010-Jawahar Thayankari

2012-Sri Ganesh

2013-Sri Ganesh

2014-Chambakulam chundan

2015-Jawahar Thayankari