World Short Track Speed Skating Championships

World Short Track Speed Skating Championships

Started Year
: 1981
: Short track speed skating
Current Champion
: Men:Sjinkie Knegt,Ladies:Choi Min-jeong

History Of World Short Track Speed Skating Championships

The World Short Track Speed Skating Championships are a senior international short track speed skating competition held once a year to determine the World Champion in individual distances, relays and Overall Classification. It is sanctioned by the International Skating Union and is usually held in March or April.

International Competitions:

In 1967, the International Skating Union adopted short track speed skating, although it did not organise international competitions until 1976. World Championships have been held since 1981, though earlier events later received that status.


Skaters perform individual races in the 500 meters, 1000 meters, 1500 meters, 3000 meters (super-final involving eight competitors with highest points after completion of other distances) and a four-person race, in the 3000 meters relay for women, and the 5000 meters relay for men. Points are given for each placings in the finals of individual distances (currently 34 points for 1st, 21 for 2nd, 13 for 3rd, 8 for 4th, 5 for 5th, 3 for 6th, 2 for 7th, 1 for 8th). From 2009, the leader after first 1000m in the 3000m super-final is given extra 5 points. The athlete with the highest points after the points for all individual distances are added up (maximum 141 points, 136 points before 2009) is declared the Men's or Ladies' Overall World Short-track Speed Skating Champion. In case of a tie in points, precedence is given to the athlete with higher placing in the 3000m super-final.

World Short Track Speed Skating Championships Archieve


1976-Alan Rattray

1977-Gaetan Boucher

1978-James Lynch

1979-Hiroshi Toda

1980-Gaetan Boucher

1981-Benoit Baril

1982-Guy Daignault

1983-Louis Grenier

1984-Guy Daignault

1985-Toshinobu Kawai

1986-Tatsuyoshi Ishihara

1987-Michel Daignault

1988-Peter van de Velde

1989-Michel Daignault

1990-Lee Joon-Ho

1991-Wilf O'Reilly

1992-Kim Ki-Hoon

1993-Marc Gagnon

1994-Marc Gagnon

1995-Chae Ji-Hoon

1996-Marc Gagnon

1997-Kim Dong-Sung

1998-Marc Gagnon

1999-Li Jiajun

2000-Min Ryoung

2001-Li Jiajun

2002-Kim Dong-Sung

2003-Ahn Hyun-Soo

2004-Ahn Hyun-Soo

2005-Ahn Hyun-Soo

2006-Ahn Hyun-Soo

2007-Ahn Hyun-Soo

2008-Apolo Anton Ohno

2009-Lee Ho-Suk

2010-Lee Ho-Suk

2011-Noh Jin-Kyu

2012-Kwak Yoon-Gy

2013-Sin Da-Woon

2014-Victor An

2015-Sjinkie Knegt


1976-Celeste Chlapaty

1977-Brenda Webster

1978-Sarah Docter

1979-Sylvie Daigle

1980-Miyoshi Kato

1981-Miyoshi Kato

1982-Maryse Perreault

1983-Sylvie Daigle

1984-Mariko Kinoshita

1985-Eiko Shishii

1986-Bonnie Blair

1987-Eiko Shishii

1988-Sylvie Daigle

1989-Sylvie Daigle

1990-Sylvie Daigle

1991-Nathalie Lambert

1992-Kim So-hee

1993-Nathalie Lambert

1994-Nathalie Lambert

1995-Chun Lee-kyung

1996-Chun Lee-kyung

1997-Chun Lee-kyung

1998-Yang Yang (A)

1999-Yang Yang (A)

2000-Yang Yang (A)

2001-Yang Yang (A)

2002-Yang Yang (A)

2003-Choi Eun-kyung

2004-Choi Eun-kyung

2005-Jin Sun-yu

2006-Jin Sun-yu

2007-Jin Sun-yu

2008-Wang Meng

2009-Wang Meng

2010-Park Seung-hi

2011-Cho Ha-ri

2012-Li Jianrou

2013-Wang Meng

2014-Shim Suk-hee

2015-Choi Min-jeong