Thomas Cup

Thomas Cup

Started Year
: 1949
: Badminton
Current Champion
: Japan national badminton team
: Sir George Thomas

History Of Thomas Cup

The Thomas Cup, sometimes called the World Men's Team Championships, is an international badminton competition among teams representing member nations of the Badminton World Federation (BWF), the sport's global governing body. The championships have been conducted every two years since the 1982 tournament, amended from being conducted every three years since the first tournament held in 1948–1949.

The twenty-eight Thomas Cup tournaments held since 1948–1949, only four nations have won the title. Indonesia is the most successful team, having won the tournament thirteen times. China, which did not begin to compete until the 1982 series, follows Indonesia with nine titles, while Malaysia has won five titles. Thomas Cup and, to a lesser extent, Uber Cup are possibly the world's "biggest" and most prestigious regularly held badminton events in terms of player and fan interest. For many they trump major tournaments for individual competitors such as the venerable All-England Championships, the BWF World Championships, and even the badminton competitions at the Olympic Games.

Japan became the fourth nation to win the Thomas Cup after beating Malaysia 3–2 in 2014 final.

Thomas Cup Archieve

Indonesia national badminton team-13 (1958, 1961, 1964, 1970, 1973, 1976, 1979, 1984, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002):

The Indonesia national badminton team represents Indonesia in international badminton team competitions and is controlled by the Persatuan Bulutangkis Seluruh Indonesia, PBSI (English: Indonesian Badminton Federation/Badminton Association of Indonesia, literally meaning: Entire Indonesia Badminton Federation), the governing body for badminton in Indonesia. The Indonesian team has not been absent from the Thomas Cup tournament (world men's team championship) since it first entered and won the competition in 1958.

The Indonesia men's team has participated in Thomas Cup 23 times, won the title 13 times and never failed to qualify for inter-zone competition. Indonesia has played in the decisive final tie on 18 occasions and never failed to place among the top four teams.

China national badminton team-9 (1982, 1986, 1988, 1990, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012):

The China National Badminton Team represents the People's Republic of China in international badminton team competitions and is controlled by the Badminton Association of the People's Republic of China, the governing body for badminton in China.

China is the most successful badminton team in history, having won the Thomas Cup 9 times.China has also won more medals in badminton at the Olympics than any other country.

Malaysia national badminton team-5 (1949, 1952, 1955, 1967, 1992):

The Malaysia national badminton team is a badminton team that plays for Malaysia in international competitions. The men's team has enjoyed immense success, having won the Thomas Cup five times, most recently in 1992 and became runner-up nine times. 

Japan national badminton team-1 (2014):

The Japan national badminton team represents Japan in international badminton team competitions.The Thomas Cup final featured two teams not expected to make it there as Japan faced Malaysia. In a back-and-forth contest, Japan came out on top by a score of 3 matches to 2, winning their first Thomas Cup