IAAF World Championships in Athletics

IAAF World Championships in Athletics

Started Year
: 2005
: Steeplechase (athletics)
Current Champion
: Men-Ezekiel Kemboi,Women-Hyvin Jepkemoi

History Of IAAF World Championships in Athletics

The World Championships in Athletics is an event organized by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF). Originally, it was planned to be held every four years, but this changed after the third edition in 1991, and it has since been run biennially.

The following list shows when new events were added for the first time.

  • 1987, women's 10,000 m and 10 km walk were added.
  • 1993, women's triple jump was added.
  • 1995, women's 5000 m was added, replacing the 3000 m race.
  • 1999, women's pole vault and hammer were added and the women's 20 km walk replaced the 10 km walk.
  • 2005, women's 3000 m steeplechase was added.

IAAF World Championships in Athletics Archieve


2005-Saif Saaeed Shaheen

2007-Brimin Kipruto

2009-Ezekiel Kemboi

2011-Ezekiel Kemboi

2013-Ezekiel Kemboi

2015-Ezekiel Kemboi


2005-Dorcus Inzikuru

2007-Yekaterina Volkova

2011-Yuliya Zarudneva Zaripova

2013-Milcah Chemos Cheywa

2015-Hyvin Jepkemoi