World Golf Championships (WGC)

World Golf Championships (WGC)

Started Year
: 1999
: Golf
Current Champion
: Dustin Johnson

History Of World Golf Championships (WGC)

The World Golf Championships (WGC) are a group of four annual events for professional golfers created by the International Federation of PGA Tours. All four WGC tournaments are official money events on the PGA Tour, European Tour, and the Japan Golf Tour, and officially sanctioned by the Asian Tour, Sunshine Tour, and PGA Tour of Australasia.

All four WGC events offer comparable prize money to the major championships. In the pantheon of golf events, some rank WGCs immediately below the major championships and above all other competitions; however, others would put The Players Championship, the so-called "Fifth Major," above WGC events. The winner of a WGC event earns a three year PGA Tour exemption.

World Golf Championships (WGC) Archieve

  • 2015-Dustin Johnson
  • 2014-Australia Jason Day
  • 2013-Matt Kuchar
  • 2012-Hunter Mahan
  • 2011-Luke Donald
  • 2010-Ian Poulter
  • 2009-Geoff Ogilvy 
  • 2008-Tiger Woods 
  • 2007-Sweden Henrik Stenson
  • 2006-Australia Geoff Ogilvy
  • 2005-David Toms
  • 2004-Tiger Woods 
  • 2003-Tiger Woods 
  • 2002-Kevin Sutherland
  • 2001-Steve Stricker
  • 2000-Darren Clarke
  • 1999-Jeff Maggert