Golf World Cup

Golf World Cup

Started Year
: 1953
: Golf
Current Champion
: World Cup of Golf-Team:Mark O'Meara & Tiger Woods,World Cup of Golf-Individual:Tiger Woods,Women's World Cup of Golf:Jennifer Rosales & Dorothy Delasin

History Of Golf World Cup

The ISPS Handa World Cup of Golf is a men's golf tournament contested by teams of two representing their country. Only one team is allowed from each country. The players are selected on the basis of the Official World Golf Ranking, although not all of the first choice players choose to compete. The equivalent event for women was the Women's World Cup of Golf, played from 2005 to 2008.

  • The tournament was founded by Canadian industrialist John Jay Hopkins, who hoped it would promote international goodwill through golf.
  • It began in 1953 as the Canada Cup and changed its named to the World Cup in 1967. With Fred Corcoran as the Tournament Director 
  • The tournament was incorporated into the World Golf Championships series from 2000 to 2006. In 2007 it ceased to be a World Golf Championships event, but continued to be sanctioned by the International Federation of PGA Tours.
  • From 2007 through 2009 the tournament was held at the Mission Hills Golf Club in Shenzhen, China, receiving the name Mission Hills World Cup.
  • The 2011 tournament was at a new venue — Mission Hills Haikou in the Chinese island province of Hainan.
  • The United States has a clear lead in wins, with 24 as of 2013.

Golf World Cup Archieve

Men's World Cup of Golf:

World Cup of Golf-Team:

  • 1999-Mark O'Meara & Tiger Woods
  • 1998-David Carter & Nick Faldo
  • 1997-Pádraig Harrington & Paul McGinley
  • 1996-Ernie Els & Wayne Westner
  • 1995-Fred Couples & Davis Love III
  • 1994-Fred Couples & Davis Love III
  • 1993-Fred Couples & Davis Love III

World Cup of Golf-Individual:

  • 1999-Tiger Woods
  • 1998-Scott Verplank
  • 1997-Colin Montgomerie
  • 1996-Ernie Els
  • 1995-Davis Love III
  • 1994-Fred Couples
  • 1993-Bernhard Langer

Women's World Cup of Golf:

  • 2005-Ai Miyazato & Rui Kitada
  • 2006-Annika Sörenstam & Liselotte Neumann
  • 2007-Julieta Granada & Celeste Troche
  • 2008-Jennifer Rosales & Dorothy Delasin