World Darts Trophy

World Darts Trophy

Started Year
: 2015
: Darts
Current Champion
: Gary Anderson

History Of World Darts Trophy

The Bullit World Darts Trophy was a darts tournament run by the British Darts Organisation and the World Darts Federation. Tournament was held between 2002 and 2007 each September at De Vechtsebanen in Utrecht, Netherlands. The tournament had a playing format comparable with the two World Championships, the BDO World Darts Championship and the PDC World Darts Championship. Until 2007, it formed part of the BDO Grand Slam, along with the Lakeside World Championship, the Winmau World Masters and the International Darts League.

First held in 2002, the tournament was played under the auspices of the World Darts Federation, British Darts Organisation and the NDB (Nederlandse Darts Bond, the Dutch governing body of darts) and featured players from those organisations up to and including 2005.

World Darts Trophy Archieve

Men's Finals:

2002-Tony David:

In 2002, he won the World Darts Trophy in the Netherlands, one of the British Darts Organisation's other Grand Slam titles. He also reached the semi-finals of the WDT in 2003 and 2004 losing both times to Raymond van Barneveld.

2003,2004-Raymond van Barneveld:

Raymond van Barneveld won the World Masters and the World Darts Trophy twice, as well as the International Darts League three times.

2005-Gary Robson:

Robson's biggest tournament win so far was at the World Darts Trophy in Utrecht, Netherlands. He beat Mervyn King 6-4 in the 2005 final,averaging 91.5 for three darts, which was a fair way below his averages during his aforementioned performances in the 2004 World Championship.

2006-Phil Taylor:

He bounced back in the second half of the year to win the World Matchplay,the World Darts Trophy(a BDO affiliated event), and the World Grand Prix.

2007-Gary Anderson:

Anderson is renowned for his heavy scoring in the game and having one of the smoothest throws.Anderson is the reigning PDC World Champion after defeating Phil Taylor 7-6 in the 2015 final, while he was also a finalist in 2011. His other career highlights to date include winning the World Darts Trophy in 2007, International Darts League in 2007, Zuiderduin Masters in 2007 and 2008, Premier League in 2011 and Players Championship Finals in 2014. Between the BDO and PDC, Anderson is a seven-time major winner.

Women's finals:

2002 Mieke de Boer beat Crissy Howat (now Crissy Manley) 3–1 (sets)

2003 Trina Gulliver beat Francis Hoenselaar 3–1 (sets)

2004 Francis Hoenselaar beat Anastasia Dobromyslova 3–1 (sets)

2005 Karin Krappen beat Francis Hoenselaar 3–1 (sets)

2006 Women's tournament discontinued

Junior WDT finals:

2006 Ron Meulenkamp beat Sven van Dun 6–1 (legs)