WTBA World Tenpin Bowling Championships

WTBA World Tenpin Bowling Championships

Started Year
: 1954
: Ten-pin Bowling
Current Champion
: Men Individual Game:Bodo Konieczny,Luis Eduardo Rovaina,Bill O'Neill,Chris Barnes,Park Jong-Woo,Tore Torgersen,Achim Grabowski,Hareb Al Mansoori,Ricardo Lecuona Women Individual Game:Kelly Kulick

History Of WTBA World Tenpin Bowling Championships

The World Tenpin Bowling Championships is a global event that invites all countries that are members of the World Bowling to participate.
The event is held every two years and is split into 2 separate tournaments, one for men and one for women. These events are held alternately every year in different countries. Until 2005, the two events were always played at the same time, however, due to the growth of the championships in recent years it was decided to split the event up into separate men's and women's championships.

Players compete for medals in 6 different categories. Every bowler plays 24 games with 6 games in each category. The top 3 in each of the following categories are awarded medals:

  • Singles
  • Doubles
  • Trios
  • Team Event

After the conclusion of these events, the all-events medals are presented to the top 3 bowlers who have accumulated the most pinfall over the 24 games. This category is regarding as the most prestigious medal in world bowling.

The final medals are decided in the Masters category. The Masters event now comprises the top 24 bowlers from the all-events category. Top 24 bowlers bowl 6 games of qualifying with all-events pinfall carried over, with the top 8 after 30 games advancing to the next round. The next round of the masters is a round robin match play with 20 bonus pins for a win and 10 bonus pins for a tie. The top 4 with the highest pinfall total plus bonus pins advance to the semifinals. In the semifinals, the number one seed bowls the fourth seed and the second seed bowls the third seed. Semifinal matches are one game matches. The semifinal losers will share the bronze medal. The finals are a one-game match between the semifinal winners to determine the gold and silver medalists.

WTBA World Tenpin Bowling Championships Archieve

Men Individual Game:

1987-Rick Steelsmith

1999-Rolando Sebelen Sr.

Steve Thornton

Andres Gomez

Ahmed Shaheen

2003-Amedeo Spada

Anders Öhman

Darren Cundy

Kimmo Lehtonen

Martin Larsen

2006-Antonis Evaggelidis

Bill Hoffman

Biboy Rivera

2010-Pasi Uotila

Chris Barnes

2013-Bodo Konieczny

Luis Eduardo Rovaina

Bill O'Neill

Chris Barnes

Park Jong-Woo

Tore Torgersen

Achim Grabowski

Hareb Al Mansoori

Ricardo Lecuona

Women Individual Game:

1999-Cha Mi-Jung

2007-Kim Yeau-Jin

Kirsten Penny

2009-María Rodríguez

2011-Kelly Kulick

Caroline Lagrange

Shannon O'Keefe

Britt Brøndsted

Shayna Ng 

Shannon Pluhowsky

2013-Kelly Kulick