ITU Triathlon World Cup

ITU Triathlon World Cup

Started Year
: 1991
: Triathlon
Current Champion
: Men's champion:Javier Gómez,Women's champion:Samantha Warriner

History Of ITU Triathlon World Cup

The ITU Triathlon World Cup is an annual series of triathlon races staged around the world. The series is organised by the International Triathlon Union (ITU), the world governing body of the sport. Following the 2008 series the number of races in the World Cup were reduced as the ITU shifted focus to the reformatted World Triathlon Series.Since the reformat, points earned in World Cup racing are applied to the World Triathlon Series rankings.


World Cup events are located at venues in various affiliated International Triathlon Union countries. The number of World Cup events, prior to 2009, ranged from 10 to 20 events per year. The number of annual World Cup events since 2009 has since been reduced, typically numbering less than 10.

Each World Cup event in the series involves a standard (Olympic) distance triathlon race. The swim begins with a mass start in open water followed by a draft-legal segment on the bike. The race distances are 1500 m swim, 40 km cycle, 10 km run. A total of 300 points are distributed amongst the athletes based on their finish position in each race and contribute to the overall point totals for the ITU Triathlon World Championships.The points achieved at each World Cup event, within the designated time frame leading up to an Olympic Games, also contribute towards the qualification for the Games. A prize fund of USD $100,000 is distributed equally between the men and women at each World Cup leg

ITU Triathlon World Cup Archieve

Men's champion:

1991-Leandro Macedo

1992-Andrew MacMartin, Brad Beven

1993-Brad Beven

1994-Brad Beven

1995-Brad Beven

1996-Miles Stewart

1997-Chris McCormack

1998-Hamish Carter

1999-Andrew Johns

2000-Dmitriy Gaag

2001-Chris Hill

2002-Greg Bennett

2003-Greg Bennett

2004-Dmitriy Gaag

2005-Hunter Kemper 

2006-Javier Gómez

2007-Javier Gómez

2008-Javier Gómez

Women's champion:

1991-Karen Smyers 

1992-Melissa Mantak 

1993-Jo-Anne Ritchie

1994-Jenny Rose

1995-Emma Carney

1996-Emma Carney

1997-Emma Carney

1998-Michellie Jones

1999-Loretta Harrop

2000-Michellie Jones

2001-Siri Lindley 

2002-Siri Lindley 

2003-Barbara Lindquist 

2004-Anja Dittmer (GER)

2005-Annabel Luxford

2006-Vanessa Fernandes

2007-Vanessa Fernandes

2008-Samantha Warriner