Evgeni Malkin

Evgeni Malkin

Nick Name
: N/A
:31 Jul,1986
:33 years, 1 months
:Magnitogorsk, Chelyabinsk, Russia
Debut On
: http://71malkin.com/

About Evgeni Malkin

Evgeni Vladimirovich "Geno" Malkin (born July 31, 1986) is a Russian professional ice hockey center and alternate captain for the Pittsburgh Penguins of the National Hockey League (NHL). He is respected and feared around the league for his remarkable skill set and ability to execute plays, earning him the reputation as one of the best players in the NHL.He currently wears number 71 on his jersey.

Malkin began his career with his hometown club Metallurg Magnitogorsk, playing for their junior and senior teams. He was then selected second overall in the 2004 NHL Draft by the Pittsburgh Penguins, though an international transfer dispute delayed the start of his NHL career until 2006. After his first season with the Penguins Malkin was awarded the Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL's best rookie. In his second season he helped lead Pittsburgh to the 2008 Stanley Cup Finals and was a runner-up for the Hart Memorial Trophy, which is given to the league's most valuable player. The following season saw Malkin win the Art Ross Trophy, awarded to the top-scorer in the NHL and again place second for the Hart Trophy. He and the Penguins again reached the Stanley Cup Final, winning the Stanley Cup championship this time around; Malkin was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as most valuable player of the playoffs. In 2012 Malkin was awarded the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award, awarded to the best player as voted on by the players, after winning the Art Ross Trophy for the second time; his 12-point lead was the largest margin of victory since 1999.

Internationally, Malkin has competed for Russia in two IIHF World U18 Championships and three IIHF World U20 Championships, capturing one gold, two silvers and one bronze medal, as a junior. In 2006, in addition to a silver medal, he was also named tournament MVP. As a senior, he has played in four IIHF World Championships, winning the gold medal and being named the tournament MVP for the 2012 event. In addition he has won the bronze medals in two other World Championships and has played for team Russia during the last three Winter Olympic Games, in Turin, Vancouver, and Sochi.

Evgeni Malkin Achievements

Hart Memorial Trophy-2012:

The Hart Memorial Trophy, originally known as the Hart Trophy, is awarded annually to the "player judged most valuable to his team" in the National Hockey League (NHL).The Hart Memorial Trophy has been awarded 90 times to 54 different players since its beginnings in 1924. Each year, members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association vote to determine the player who was the most valuable to his team during the regular season.

Art Ross Trophy-2012,2009:

The Art Ross Trophy is awarded to the National Hockey League player who leads the league in scoring points at the end of the regular season.It was presented to the NHL by former player, general manager, and head coach Art Ross. The trophy has been awarded 65 times to 27 players since its inception in the 1947–48 NHL season. Ross is also known for his design of the official NHL puck, with slightly bevelled edges for better control.

The current holder is Sidney Crosby, who scored 104 points in the 2013–14 NHL season. This win came six years after Crosby won the Art Ross in the 2006–07 NHL season, when he became the youngest player in NHL history to win the scoring title.

Calder Memorial Trophy-2007:

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League."Serving as the NHL's Rookie of the Year award, this version of the trophy has been awarded since its creation for the 1936–37 NHL season. The voting is conducted by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the conclusion of each regular season to determine the winner.

Ted Lindsay Award:

The Ted Lindsay Award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, is awarded annually to the National Hockey League's most outstanding player in the regular season as judged by the members of the NHL Players Association. It has been awarded 42 times to 24 different players since its beginnings in 1971. It is a companion to the Hart Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the League's Most Valuable Player, as judged by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

The award was renamed for Detroit Red Wings great Ted Lindsay, officially announced on April 29, 2010.

Other Popular Players

Dong dong