Lee Chong Wei

Lee Chong Wei

Nick Name
: N/A
:21 Oct,1982
:36 years, 10 months
:Kampung Bagan Serai, Perak, Malaysia
Debut On

About Lee Chong Wei

Lee Chong Wei (born 21 October 1982 in Bagan Serai, Perak) is a Malaysian Chinese professional badminton player. As a singles player, Lee was ranked first worldwide for 199 consecutive weeks from 21 August 2008 to 14 June 2012.He is the third Malaysian player after Rashid Sidek and Roslin Hashim to achieve such a ranking (since official rankings were first kept in the 1980s), and is the only Malaysian shuttler to hold the number one ranking for more than a year.

Lee is a silver medalist in both the 2008 and 2012 Olympic Games, making him the sixth Malaysian to win an Olympic medal[3] and the first Malaysian to reach the finals in the men's singles event, ending Malaysia's Olympic medal drought since the 1996 Games. This achievement also earned him the title Dato', and a description by Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak as a national hero.He repeated the achievement four years later in London, thus making him the most successful Malaysian Olympian in history

Lee Chong Wei Achievements

Badminton at the 2012 Summer Olympics – Men's singles:

The draw was held on 23 July 2012.Forty players from 34 nations competed in the event. China's Lin Dan won the gold medal, defeating Lee Chong Wei from Malaysia in the final. Chen Long, also of China, won the bronze medal.

Badminton at the 2008 Summer Olympics – Men's singles:

The tournament consisted of a single-elimination tournament. Matches were played using a best-of-three games format. Games were played to 21 points, using rally scoring. Each game had to be won by a margin of two points, except when the game was won by a player who reached 30 even if the lead was only 1 at that point.


Penang Sportsman Award-7(2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012)

National Sportsman Award-4(2005, 2008, 2011, 2012)

BWF Player of the Year Award-4(2009, 2010, 2011, 2013)

TYT Prime Award Trophy-3(2008, 2010, 2012)

Olympian of the Year Award-2(2008, 2012)

Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) Award-1(2008)

Most Popular Icon on Television Award by RTM-1(2013)

Other Popular Players

Henry rono
Steeplechase (athletics)
Ramy ashour
Squash (sport)