All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Ramdhari Singh Dinkar Jnanpith Award Awarded In 1972

Ramdhari Singh Dinkar

Ramdhari Singh Dinkar

Award Name : Jnanpith Award

Year of Award : 1972

Award for : Literature

Location : Simaria Ghāt, Bihar, India


Dinkar was a Hindi poet, essayist, patriot and academic. His contribution to the field of Hindi poetry is really huge. He was a poet of rebellion who penned many patriotic poems before Indian independence. Veer rasa is the main ingredient of his poems. He was given the honour of "RashtraKavi" as his poems have catalysed Indian freedom struggle movement a lot. His portrait was unveiled in the Central Hall of Parliament of India by the Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh on his centenary year, 2008. On 23 November 2012, the President of India, Pranab Mukherjee distributed Rashtrakavi Ramdhari Singh 'Dinkar' Sahitya Ratna Samman to 21 prominent writers and social workers. The function was organised in Rashtrapati Bhavan. Dinkar was awarded the Jnanpith Award in 1972 for Urvashi. Hunkar is his epic poem published in the year 1938.

Ramdhari Singh Dinkar was born in a poor Bhumihar Brahmin family in the village of Simariya in Begusarai district of Indian state of Bihar. Since childhood, Dinkar showed immense interest in studies, his favorite subjects being history, philosophy, and politics. In his later years, he even learned several other languages, such as Hindi, Sanskrit, Maithili, English, Bengali, and Urdu. Iqbal, Rabindranath Tagore, Keats, and Milton were some famous celebrities that influenced Dinkar to a large extent. Such was the influence that he went ahead with translating the works of Rabindranath Tagore from Bangla to Hindi. 

Dinkar's first published poetical work was Vijay Sandesh (1928). A few of his noted works include - Pranbhang (1929), Hunkar (epic poem) (1938), Dvandvageet (1940), Kurukshetra (1946), Saamdheni (1947), Itihas ke Aansoo (1951), Rashmirathi (1952), Neem ke Patte (1954), Suraj ka Byaah (1955), Seepee aur Shankh (1957), Naye Subhaashit (1957), Urvashi (1961), Parashuram ki Pratiksha (1963), Haare ko Harinaam (1970) and Bhagvaan Ke Daakiye(1970). His noted poem collections are Lokpriya Kavi Dinkar (1960), Dinkar ki Suktiyan (1964), Dinkar ke Geet (1973), Urvashi tatha anya shringarik kavitayen (1974) and Rashmilok (1974). He has also written numerous prose works and critics books.