Nikola Grbic

Nikola Grbic

Nick Name
: N/A
:06 Sep,1973
:45 years, 11 months
:Klek, , Serbia
Debut On

About Nikola Grbic

Nikola Grbic (born September 6, 1973) is a former Serbian volleyball player. He was born at Klek, Socialist Republic of Serbia, Yugoslavia, now part of Serbia. Standing at 1,95 m, he played as a setter. He is the younger brother of Vladimir Grbi?, who also played volleyball on the highest level.

National team:

With Yugoslavian national team he won gold medal in the 2000 Summer Olympics and a bronze medal in 1996 at Atlanta. His international victories include a silver medal in the 1998 FIVB Men's World Championship and a bronze medal in the 2010 FIVB Men's World Championship, as well as a gold at the 2001 European Championship. He was a national team captain from 1999 to 2010.



-3 Italian Cup (1999, 2000, 2010)

-1 European Cup Winners' (1998)

-2 European Supercup (1997, 2000)

-1 Cup of Champions (2000)

-1 Top Teams Cup (2006)

-2 Scudetto (2008, 2010)

-1 Champions League (2009)

-1 CEV Cup (2010)

-1 Italian Supercup (2010)

-1 Russian League Champion (2014)

National team:

-1 Gold medal Olympic Games (2000)

-1 Bronze medal Olympic Games (1996)

-1 Silver medal World Championship (1998)

-1 Bronze medal World Championship (2010)

-1 Gold medal European Championship (2001)

-1 Silver medal European Championship (1997)

-4 Bronze medals European Championship (1995, 1999, 2005, 2007)

-4 Silver medal World League (2003, 2005, 2008, 2009)

-2 Bronze medal World League (2002, 2004)

-1 Bronze medal World Cup (2003)

-1 Bronze medal World Grand Champions Cup (2001)

Nikola Grbic Achievements

1997-Yugoslav Olympic Committee award for best sportsman:

The Yugoslav Olympic Committee was the non-profit organization representing athletes from former Yugoslavia states in the International Olympic Committee. The YOC organized Yugoslavia's representatives at the Summer and Winter Olympic Games.

It was established in Zagreb in 1919 (recognized by the IOC in 1920), before moving to Belgrade in 1927, and it took the place of the Serbian Olympic Committee in the Association of National Olympic Committees. During the dissolution of Yugoslavia, several new committees were formed in the break-away countries, while FR Yugoslavia (later Serbia and Montenegro) inherited the place of the YOC. Nowadays, Serbia is considered the only direct successor of Yugoslavia

1997 Best European Player

1997 European Championship "Best Setter":

The 1997 Men's European Volleyball Championship was the 20th edition of the event, organized by Europe's governing volleyball body, the Confederation Europeenne de Volleyball. It was hosted from September 6 to September 14 in two cities in the Netherlands – Den Bosch and Eindhoven 

2001 European Championship "Best Setter":

The 2001 Men's European Volleyball Championship was the 22nd edition of the event, organized by Europe's governing volleyball body, the Confédération Européenne de Volleyball. It was hosted in Ostrava, Czech Republic from September 8 to September 16, 2001.


The number one to six from the 1999 edition of the Men's European Volleyball Championship — Italy, Yugoslavia, Russia, France, Czech Republic (also host) and the Netherlands — were automatically qualified for the 2001 edition. The other teams had to qualify in the previous year.

2003 European Championship "Best Setter":

The 2003 Men's European Volleyball Championship was the 23rd edition of the event, organized by Europe's governing volleyball body, the Confédération Européenne de Volleyball. It was hosted in Berlin, Germany from September 5 to September 14, 2003.


The first five from the 2001 edition of the Men's European Volleyball Championship — Serbia & Montenegro, Italy, Czech Republic, Russia, and Poland — plus hosts Germany were automatically qualified. The four group winners qualified, and the two best numbers two.

2003 FIVB World Cup "Best Setter":

The 2003 FIVB Volleyball Men's World Cup was held from November 16 to November 29, 2003 in Japan. Twelve men's national teams played in cities all over Japan for the right to a fast lane ticket into the Olympic Tournament in Athens, Greece 2004.

Teams were made up as follows: hosts Japan, continental champions and vice-champions from Europe, Asia, NORCECA and South America, continental champion from Africa plus two wild-card teams nominated jointly by FIVB and the Japan Volleyball Association. Teams played a single-round robin format (66 games overall), in two parallel groups (site A and site B). The men played in Tokyo, Hiroshima, Fukuoka, Nagano, Hamamatsu and Okayama. Japan is the traditional host of the tournament since 1977.

2005 European Championship "Best Setter":

The 24th Men's European Volleyball Championship was the first continental volleyball competition hosted by two nations – Serbia and Montenegro and Italy, namely in their respective capitals, Belgrade and Rome. Championship took place from September 2 to September 11, 2005.

"2009 World League "Best Setter""

2010 Best Sportsman of Vojvodina

Serbia's sport association "May Award"

2010 FIVB World Championship "Best Setter":

The 2010 FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship was held in Italy from 25 September to 10 October 2010. The tournament featured 24 teams to determine the world champions in men's volleyball. In addition to 2006 champion Brazil and host nation Italy, 22 teams qualified for the tournament by means of continental and regional competitions. The matches took place in ten venues across ten Italian cities, with the final being held at the PalaLottomatica, Rome.[1]

The tournament was won by Brazil, who beat Cuba in final. Brazil won their third straight world championship having won previously in 2002 and 2006.[2] The podium was completed by Serbia who defeated Italy in the 3rd place match. Brazilian wing-spiker Murilo Endres was named the tournament MVP.[3]

Brazil's victory continued their eight-year period of domination of world volleyball. Brazil has now won 15 of 17 major competitions since 2002. Brazil's third straight world championship equals the record for consecutive titles set by Italy in the 1990s

Other Popular Players

Kaya turski
Freestyle skiing
Ilia frolov
Modern Pentathlon
Felix gottwald
Nordic combined
tom kristensen
Sports car racing