All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Tannishtha Chatterjee National Film Awards Awarded In 2013

Tannishtha Chatterjee

Tannishtha Chatterjee

Award Name : National Film Awards

Year of Award : 2013

Award for : Arts

Location : Pune, Maharashtra, India


Tannishtha Chatterjee is an Indian film actress originally from Delhi, India. She is best known for her performance in Sarah Gavron's Brick Lane (2007), the film adaptation of Monica Ali's bestselling novel of the same name. She was nominated for the British Independent Film Awards as the best actress for Brick Lane along with actresses like Judi Dench and Anne Hathaway. Her notable roles include Masha in Academy Award-winning German director Florian Gallenberger's film, Shadows of Time which is also known as Schatten der Zeit in German, the film Bibar for which she won the best actress in 2006 Osian Film Festival and the 2007 BFJA awards. Apart from numerous international awards, she has also won MIAAC Film Festival awards in 2009 In New York- Best actress for Bombay Summe, BFJA-Most Promising Actress Award 2007 for Bibar and National Film Award (Special Mention) - Dekh Indian Circus.

Chatterjee was born in Pune to a Bengali family. Her father was a business executive and her mother was a political science professor. After completing graduation at Delhi University she joined National School of Drama. After completion of course, she worked with many directors India and abroad. Her debut movie was Swaraj, released in the year 2001. She has appeared in movies - Jalpari: The Desert Mermaid, Jal, Road: the movie, Brick lane, Barah ana,Bombay summer, Anna Karenina and White elephant.