All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Ali Sardar Jafri Jnanpith Award Awarded In 1997

Ali Sardar Jafri

Ali Sardar Jafri

Award Name : Jnanpith Award

Year of Award : 1997

Award for : Literature

Location : Balrāmpur, Uttar Pradesh, India


Ali Sardar Jafri was a prolific and versatile Urdu writer from India. He was also a poet, critic and film lyricist. He was born on November 29, 1913 in Balrampur. In 1933, he joined Aligarh Muslim University but was expelled due to his communist activities in 1936. He graduated in 1938 from Zakir Husain College of Delhi University. He joined Lucknow University for PG studies, but was arrested during 1940-41 for writing anti-War poems, and for taking part in political activities of INA as secretary of the university's Students' Union.

His literary career began in 1938 with the publication of his first collection of short stories called Manzil. His first publication of poem collection was Parvaz, done in the year 1944. In 1936, he presided over the first conference of the Progressive Writers' Movement in Lucknow. His important works as a lyricist include Dharti Ke Lal (1946) and Pardesi (1957). His important poem collection include - Nai Duniya Ko Salaam (1948), Khoon Ki Lakeer, Amn Ka Sitara, Asia Jaag Utha (1951), Patthar Ki Deewar  (1953), Ek Khwab Aur, Pairahan-i-Sharar  (1965), Lahu Pukarta Hai (1965), Awadh ki khak-i-haseen, Subhe Farda, Mera Safar and Sarhad. He received Jannpith award in the year 1997; the third Urdu poet to receive with honorary awards after after Firaq Gorakhpuri (1969) and Qurratulain Hyder (1989). He has also received Padma Shri (1967), Gold medal from the Pakistan Government for Iqbal studies (1978), Uttar Pradesh Urdu Academy Award for poetry, Iqbal Samman Award from the Madhya Pradesh government, Makhdoom Award, Faiz Ahmad Faiz Award and Sant Dyaneshwar Award from the Maharashtra government. He received doctorate Aligarh Muslim University in the year 1986. He died on August 1, 2000.


Jnanpith Award Awardeds