All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Rajendra Shah Jnanpith Award Awarded In 2001

Rajendra Shah

Rajendra Shah

Award Name : Jnanpith Award

Year of Award : 2001

Award for : Literature

Location : Kheda, Gujarāt, India


Rajendra Keshavlal Shah was a lyrical poet who wrote in Gujarati. Rajendra Shah was born on 28 January 1913 in Kheda of Britsih India. He did his Bachelors in philosophy from the Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda. Later he started his teaching career from Ahmedabad. Shah's first poem was published in 1933, in The Wilsonian, his college magazine. His first collection of poems, Dhvani, with 21 poems was published 18 years later. He has 21 collections of poems to his credit. Most noted ones are Dhvani (1951), Andolan (1952), Shruti (1957), Morpinchh (1959), Shat Kohalal (1962), Chitrana (1967), Kshan je Chirantan (1968), Vishdne Sad (1968), Madhyama (1978), Udgiti (1979), Ikshana (1979), Patralekha (1981), Prasana Saptak (1982), Panch Parva (1983), Vibhavan (1983), Dwasupama (1983), Chandan Bhini and Anamik (1987) and Aranyak (1992). 

Important awards and honours achieved by him are Kumar Chandrak in 1947, Ranjitram Suvarna Chandrak in 1956, Sahitya Akademi Award in the year 1963 for Shant Kolahal, Aurobindo Suvarna Chandrak by Gujarati Sahitya Parishad in 1980, Narasinh Mehta award in 1994 and Jnanpith in the year 2001. He is considered as one of the giants of Gujarati poetry post Gandhi era. Many of his works have been inspired from Tagore’s Sanskrit metrics. He died on January 2, 2010 aged 96.