All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Subra Suresh Timoshenko Medal Awarded In 2012

Subra Suresh

Subra Suresh

Award Name : Timoshenko Medal

Year of Award : 2012

Award for : Science and Engineering

Location : Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States


Subra Suresh (born May 30, 1956) is the ninth and current president of Carnegie Mellon University.A distinguished engineer and scientist, Suresh served as Director of the National Science Foundation from 2010 to 2013. Before his appointment to NSF, he was the Vannevar Bush Professor of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he was the Dean of the School of Engineering (2007-2010).In October 2013, Suresh was elected to the Institute of Medicine, the branch of the U.S. National Academies that honors researchers in medicine and health care. He already had been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (2012) and the National Academy of Engineering (2002).He also received ASME's 2012 Timoshenko Medal, the highest global recognition in the field of theoretical and applied mechanics.

Subra Suresh Other Awards


Timoshenko Medal Awardeds