All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Uday Prakash Sahitya Akademi Award Awarded In 2010

Uday Prakash

Uday Prakash

Award Name : Sahitya Akademi Award

Year of Award : 2010

Award for : Literature

Location : Anūppur, Madhya Pradesh, India


Uday Prakash is a noted poet and short story writer of Hindi. He is a scholar, translator and journalist also. He has worked as administrator, editor, researcher and TV director. He also writes as a freelance writer for newspapers and magazines. In 2010 he received Sahitya Akademi Award in Hindi for his collection of short stories, Mohan Das. In 2013, he was the finalist of Jan Michalski Prize for Literature for the book - The Walls of Delhi. The same book gave him a place among the shortlisted candidates for DSC Prize for South Asian Literature. Pahal Samman, Pushkin Award, Dvijdev Samman, Vanmali Samman and SAARC Literary Award are the major honours received by this writer. He has also been awarded with Shrikant Verma Memorial Award, Muktibodh Samman, Bharat Bhushan Agrawal Puraskar and Om Prakash Samman for his contributions. 

Prakash was born on January 1, 1952 in a remote village of Sitapur, Shahdol, Madhya Pradesh from where he got primary education. Later he became graduated in science and completed Master’s degree in Hindi Literature, receiving a Gold Medal from Saugar University in 1974. Prakash’s most noted work is Peelee Chhatri Wali Ladki (2001), a novella. His first novel was Cheeni baba. His poetry collections include - Suno karigara, Abootar Kabootar, Raat Mein Harmonium and EK Bhasha Hua Karati Hai. Warren Hastings ka Saand is his most popular short story. Other major works are Dariyayi Ghoda, Paul Gomra Ka Scooter and Areba–Pareba. He has also written a few essays and translation works also.


Sahitya Akademi Award Awardeds