All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Kiran Nagarkar Sahitya Akademi Award Awarded In 2000

Kiran Nagarkar

Kiran Nagarkar

Award Name : Sahitya Akademi Award

Year of Award : 2000

Award for : Literature

Location : Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India


Kiran Nagarkar is an Indian novelist, playwright, film and drama critic and screenwriter. His works are done in both Marathi and English languages. Saat Sakkam Trechalis (1974), Ravan and Eddie (1994), and the epic novel, Cuckold (1997) are his noted works. Cuckold won Sahitya Akademi Award in 2001. He received Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2012 and his name has been shortlisted in The Hindu Literary Prize in 2013, for the work – The Extras. He is one among the acclaimed writers from India who is successful in more than one language. Nagarkar was born in Mumbai in the year 1942. He studied at Fergusson College in Pune and the S.I.E.S. College in Mumbai. His first novel, Saat Sakkam Trechalis is considered one of the landmark works of Marathi literature. This novel was later published in English as Seven Sixes Are Forty Three. Though his work - Ravan and Eddie were started in Marathi, they finally got published in the year 1994. After that all his novels were written in English. His third novel, Cuckold on mystic Meerabai's husband, Bhoj Raj, was published in 1997. This Sahitya Academy winning novel has been translated to several Indian languages and widely regarded as one among his best works.

‘God's Little Soldier’ took 9 long years for the author to complete. Atale of a liberal Muslim boy's tryst with religious orthodoxy, published in 2006 got mixed reviews. The Extras, a sequel to Ravan and Eddie was published in 2012 which received a nomination at The Hindu Literary Prize in 2013. He has received Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, the highest tribute of Germany paid to individuals. His play Bedtime Story (1978) is partly based on great epic, Mahabharata.


Sahitya Akademi Award Awardeds