All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Kharak Singh Valdiya Padma Bhushan Awarded In 2015

Kharak Singh Valdiya

Kharak Singh Valdiya

Award Name : Padma Bhushan

Year of Award : 2015

Award for : Science and Engineering

Location : Bangalore, Karnataka, India


Valdiya taught sedimentology, stratigraphy, tectonics, engineering and environmental geology at the Lucknow, Rajasthan, Delhi and Kumaun universities. He initiated and pursued research on natural hazards and landform changes in relation to neotectonism, geohydrology of mountain springs, palaeocurrent patterns and reconstruction of palaegoeography, and cyanobacterial-built stromatolites that led to assigning ages to the then undated rocks in the Himalayan and Vindhyan domains. His work on the characterization and genesis of magnesite deposits led to profitable mining and economic development of eastern Kumaun in Uttarakhand. In Southern Indian Shield, embracing Sotheastern Kanataka and adjoining Tamil Nadu and the Kanada and Malabar coastal belts, his studies relate to active faults, landform development, landscape reshaping and deflection, deviation, disruption and blockages of rivers in response to renewal of tectonic movements on active faults. He has written 110 research papers, authored 14 books, edited 9 books and contributed 40 articles in Hindi towards popularization of science. 

Professor Valdiya was awarded Padmashri (2007), Hindi Sevi Samman (Atma Ram Prize) (2007), National Mineral Award of Excellence (1997), DN Wadia Medal (1995), National Mineral Award (1993), SK Mitra Award (1991), SS Bhatnagar Prize (1976) and Chancellors Medal (1954). He was Pitambar Pant Environment Fellow of Department of Environment and Forests (1982-84) and UGC National Lecturer (1977-78). He was elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad, the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, Geological Society of India, Geological Society of America (Honorary Fellow) ,Geological Society of Nepal and Padma Bhusan award in 2015.