All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Dilip Vengsarkar Arjuna Award Awarded In 1981

Dilip Vengsarkar

Dilip Vengsarkar

Award Name : Arjuna Award

Year of Award : 1981

Award for : Sports and Games

Location : Rājāpur, Maharashtra, India


Dilip Balwant Vengsarkar is an Indian cricketer and cricket administrator. He was born on 6th April 1956 at Rajapur, Maharashtra. His full name is Dilip Balwant Vengsarkar. His nickname is Colonel. He started to play cricket at his early age.  He was a stylish and elegant player.  He started his career in his teenage. In 1975, he played his first teenage cricket match for Bombay in an Irani Trophy match at Nagpur. In this match he scored 110 runs. This match was the key point for him to enter into the Indian team to play international matches. Vengsarkar was one of the proud members of the Indian squad that represented the nation in the 1983 World Cup Cricket and became victorious in the tournament. He gave his best performance between the years 1985 and 1987 and scored a number of centuries against the strong teams like Sri Lanka, West Indies, Australia and Pakistan. As a matter of fact, the ratings by Coopers and Lybrand declared him as the Best Batsman in the World during that period. 

Vengsarkar also served as the Captain of the Indian Cricket team for some time after the 1987 World Cup Cricket tournament and led the team in 10 Test matches, but he had to leave the position in the year 1989 after some controversy erupted upon his tour to USA. Totally he played 116 test matches and scored 6868 runs which include 17 centuries and 35 half-centuries at an average strike rate of 42.13 runs with record high score of 166 runs.  He has played 29 ODI matches scoring 3508 runs which include 1 century and 23 half-centuries with an average strike rate of 34.73 with the highest score of 105 runs. He formed Elf-Vengsarkar Academy at Mumbai in 1995 after he retired from cricket. He became the Vice president of the Mumbai Cricket Association in the year 2003. In 2006, he became the Chairman of the Selection Committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). He received Arjuna Award in 1981 and Padma Shri Award in 1987 from the Government of India.