All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Sylvester Medal Award

Sylvester Medal

Awards Type : InterNational Award

Organized Country : United Kingdom

First Award : 1901

The Sylvester Medal is a bronze medal awarded by the Royal Society (London) for the encouragement of mathematical research, and accompanied by a £1,000 prize.It was named in honour of James Joseph Sylvester, the Savilian Professor of Geometry at the University of Oxford in the 1880s, and first awarded in 1901, having been suggested by a group of Sylvester's friends (primarily Raphael Meldola) after his death in 1897.Initially awarded every three years with a prize of around £900,the Royal Society have announced that starting in 2009 it will be awarded every two years instead, and is to be aimed at 'early to mid career stage scientist' rather than an established mathematician.The award winner is chosen by the Society's A-side awards committee, which handles physical rather than biological science awards.

Award Organized By: Royal Society


Sylvester Medal Awarded
Sylvester Medal Categories