All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Sarveshwar Dayal Saxena Sahitya Akademi Award Awarded In 1983

Sarveshwar Dayal Saxena

Sarveshwar Dayal Saxena

Award Name : Sahitya Akademi Award

Year of Award : 1983

Award for : Literature

Location : Basti, Uttar Pradesh, India


Sarveshwar Dayal Saxena was a noted Hindi writer, poet, columnist and playwright. He was one of the seven poets who first published in one of the "Tar Saptaks", which ushered in the ‘Prayogvaad’ (Experimentalism) era, which in time evolved to become the "Nayi Kavita" (New Poetry) movement. Sarveshwar Dayal Saxena was born on 15 September 1927 in Basti city, in Uttar Pradesh he received his education at Banaras Hindu University, and Allahabad University. Today he is considered an important political poet. He won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his Poetry collection, Khutiyon Par Tange Log ("People Hanging From Pegs").His short story, Bakri ("Scapegoat"), has been adapted as '', in Kannada, by M.S.Sathyu, has been staged many times over the year, with revised adaptations, starting from the Emergency period (1975–77), when it was used as a political lampoon, it has also been presented as a folk play. His other noted plays are, Lakh Ki Naak, Hawalat and Bhaun Bhaun Khaun Khaun. Sarveshwar Dayal Saxena even wrote Mukti ki Aakanksha that showed the need of independency during his time. One of his poems has been turned into an animation short, by Siddhartha Pratap Singh, titled Apni Bitiya Ke Liye Ek Kavita. He also wrote 'Sham Ek Kishan'.