All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Darleane C. Hoffman National Medal of Science Awarded In 1997

Darleane C. Hoffman

Darleane C. Hoffman

Award Name : National Medal of Science

Year of Award : 1997

Award for : Chemistry

Location : Terril, Iowa, United States


Darleane C. Hoffman is an American nuclear chemist who was among the researchers who confirmed the existence of Seaborgium, element 106. She is a faculty senior scientist in the Nuclear Science Division of Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory and a professor in the graduate school at UC Berkeley. She was born on born November 8, 1926 in Terril, Iowa. Received B. S. and Ph. D. degrees from Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa.  Chemist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1952-1953). Hoffman received the National Medal of Science in 1997. In 2000, she became the second woman to receive the Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society’s highest honor. She is also a recipient of the Society’s Nuclear Chemistry Award (1983) and Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal (1990). 


National Medal of Science Awardeds