All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Shankar Mahadevan National Film Awards Awarded In 2013

Shankar Mahadevan

Shankar Mahadevan

Award Name : National Film Awards

Year of Award : 2013

Award for : Arts

Location : Chembur, Maharashtra, India


Shankar Mahadevan is an Indian singer and music composer. An accomplished musician in Tamil cinema, he is a part of the Shankar Ehsaan Loy trio team that provides music to Bollywood films. He was born on 3 March 1967 in Chembur, Mumbai, Maharashtra. He learned Hindustani classical music and Carnatic music in his childhood. He entered singing field during middle 90's when Kumar Sanu and Udit Narayan were at the top. His private album 'Breathless' released in the year 1998 was a huge hit and made him a popular singer. The patriotic song, 'Suno zor se duniyawalom' from the unreleased movie Dus was one among his earliest hits. His association with his musical friends as music composer began with this movie. The song 'Aasman ke baad shaayad' composed by the team and sung by Mahadevan made him a popular figure. He sang a song similar to 'Breathless' in the movie 'Hum dil de chuke sanam' in the year 1999. His association with A. R. Rahman in Tamil movies placed him among the top slot. Though he was a known singer of Bollywood, it was through Rahman's songs that he became a very popular singer. In 2000, he got two big songs of Rahman - Chandana thendrale of Kandukondein Kandukondein and Thaniye thaniye of Rhythm. He was seen singing in the video of Thaniye also. He won National awards for Chandana thendrale and Thaniye song was the most popular song of the year after Khushi.

As a playback singer Shankar has won National awards thrice - "Yenna Solla Pogirai" (Kandukondain Kandukondain) in year 2000, "Maa" (Taare Zameen Par) in year 2008 and Bolo Na" (Chittagong) in 2012. He has won Kerala State Film Award for Best Singer for the song - "Kalyaana Kacheri" (Madampi) in the year 2008. He has won Filmfare awards twice for best music director - shared with Ehsaan Noorani and Loy Mendonsa for Kal ho na ho and Bunty aur babli and has won Filmfare RD Burman Award for New Music Talent for Dil Chahta Hai. This team of directors has won three International Indian Film Academy Awards (Kal Ho Naa Ho, Bunty Aur Babli, My Name is Khan). He has received 10 nominations in Filmfare and IIFA for best music.


National Film Awards Awardeds