All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Walter Munk Crafoord Prize Awarded In 2010

Walter Munk

Walter Munk

Award Name : Crafoord Prize

Year of Award : 2010

Award for : Geology

Location : La Jolla, California, United States


Walter Heinrich Munk (born October 19, 1917) is an American physical oceanographer.He is professor of geophysics emeritus and holds the Secretary of the Navy/Chief of Naval Operations Oceanography Chair at Scripps Institution of Oceanography in La Jolla, California.He received  Crafoord Prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 2010 “for his pioneering and fundamental contributions to our understanding of ocean circulation, tides and waves, and their role in the Earth's dynamics”.