All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Sourav Ganguly Arjuna Award Awarded In 1997

Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly

Award Name : Arjuna Award

Year of Award : 1997

Award for : Sports and Games

Location : Behāla, Bengal, India


Sourav Chandidas Ganguly, commonly known as Sourav Ganguly has been a member of the Indian Cricket team, and regarded to be one of the most successful Captains ever of the Indian Cricket team. As a matter of fact, the Indian Test Cricket team won 21 Test Cricket matches out of total 49 that were played under his Captainship, which is one of the best success rates any Captain of the Indian Test Cricket team has ever managed to accomplish. Not only this, Ganguly, fondly known as Dada by his fans and Maharaj by his teammates, has to his credit the feat of having nurtured a number of efficient players who played under his Captainship. These include Virender Sahwag, Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh among others. 

He was born on July 8, 1972 in Behala, Kolkata. He has studied in St Xavier's College, Kolkata and was inspired by his brother Snehasish Ganguly, an accomplished left-handed batsman for Bengal. His brother supported his dream to be a cricketer and asked their father to get Ganguly enrolled in a cricket coaching camp during his summer holidays. He used to watch a number of old cricket match videos, especially the games played by David Gower, whom Ganguly admired. After he scored a century against the Orissa Under-15 side, he was made the captain of his School's cricket team. In 1999 Cricket World Cup, he was involved in a partnership of 318 runs with Rahul Dravid, which remains the highest overall partnership score in the World Cup tournament history. In 2008, he has joined the Kolkata Knight Riders team as captain for Indian Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament. Indian team was ranked at eighth position as per ICC rankings before he became the captain and under his occupancy the team rank went up to second position. On 20 May 2013, he was awarded with the Banga Bibhushan Award from the Government of West Bengal. In 1997, he received the Arjuna Award.