All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Abhijeet Gupta Arjuna Award Awarded In 2013

Abhijeet Gupta

Abhijeet Gupta

Award Name : Arjuna Award

Year of Award : 2013

Award for : Sports and Games

Location : Bhīlwāra, Rajasthan, India


Abhijeet Gupta is a Grandmaster from India. He has won 20 medals in various competitions of which Commonwealth Chess Championship 2013 at Port Elizabeth in South Africa needs special mention. He has won many Chess tournaments in Junior, Sub junior and senior categories. It includes many National level, Asian and World championships too. Abhijeet became National Junior (Under-19) Chess Champion at the age of 13 years and 10 days in 2002. Thus his name was included in the Limca Book of Records in 2001 as the permanent record holder. Abhijeet became an International Master in 2005 and become an International Grand Master in the year 2008. In the recent years, he has some astonishing wins in the game of cricket. 

Abhijeet was born on October 16, 1989 in Bhilwara. He holds a BA in literature from Indira Gandhi Open University. He entered participating in school competitions at the age of six. Earlier he used to play with his neighbours. Among all chess players, Viswanath Anand is his favourite. In 2001, he became Rajasthan's senior champion at the age of 11 years and eight months. Thus he entered Limca Book of World records the following year on becoming the youngest National junior. He earned him GM title at the age of 18 after earning his 3rd GM norm at the Balaguer 2007 International Open where he came third. He has won 14 international medals, including six gold medals from the Asian, Commonwealth and British Championship age-group categories. In 2011, he came first in the 13th Dubai Open Chess Championship and in the Indian National Premier Chess Championship. In 2013 Gupta won the Commonwealth Chess Championship and the Al Ain Chess Classic tournament. In the same year he received the Arjuna award for his achievements.


Arjuna Award Awardeds