All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Ramesh Krishnan Arjuna Award Awarded In 1980

Ramesh Krishnan

Ramesh Krishnan

Award Name : Arjuna Award

Year of Award : 1980

Award for : Sports and Games

Location : Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India


Ramesh Krishnan is a former tennis player from Tamil Nadu, who currently serves as a coach. Since playing as a junior in the 1970s he gave some outstanding achievements to his country, similar to his father - Ramanathan Krishnan, the tennis first player from Asia to win Wimbledon junior title in 1959. Ramesh too followed the same tradition of success, and won both Wimbledon and French Open junior titles in the 1970s. He continued with the success journey throughout 1980s and reached three Grand Slam quarter-finals in the 1980s. His win against ruling World No. 1 player, Mats Wilander, at the 1989 Australian Open is one of his most outstanding achievements in his tennis career. He was born in Chennai on 5 June 1961. Both his father and grandfather were good tennis players and he learnt the game from his father Ramanathan Krishnan, a leading Indian player of 1950s and 1960s, who reached semifinals of Wimbledon in 1960 and 1961. He won Wimbledon junior title in 1979, followed by French Open junior title the same year, thus reaching No.1 rank among junior tennis players of the world. With early 1980s he started playing senior level tennis games and reached US Open Quarter Finals in 1981. He also reached quarter finals of Wimbledon in 1986 and US Open in 1987.

He was a member of Indian team which reached Davis Cup final in 1987, apart from several Davis cup games. He along with Leander Paes reached the quarter-finals of men’s doubles at 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona. He retired from his professional career the following year and later set up a tennis academy in Chennai. His career peak was in 1985 when he reached no.30 in the world ranking in tennis. In 1980, he received the Arjuna Award and also he received Padma Sri in the year 1998.