All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Maya Angelou Norman Mailer Prize Awarded In 2013

Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou

Award Name : Norman Mailer Prize

Year of Award : 2013

Award for : Literature

Location : Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States


Maya Angelou (born April 4, 1928 – May 28, 2014) was an American author, poet, dancer, actress, and singer. She published seven autobiographies, three books of essays, and several books of poetry, and was credited with a list of plays, movies, and television shows spanning over 50 years. She received dozens of awards and more than 50 honorary degrees.Angelou is best known for her series of seven autobiographies, which focus on her childhood and early adult experiences. The first, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (1969), tells of her life up to the age of 17 and brought her international recognition and acclaim.He received Norman Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement in 2013.