All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Hugo Award

Hugo Award

Awards Type : InterNational Award

Organized Country : United States

First Award : 1953

The Hugo Awards are a set of awards given annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. The awards are named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories, and were officially named the Science Fiction Achievement Awards until 1992. Organized and overseen by the World Science Fiction Society, the awards are given each year at the annual World Science Fiction Convention as the central focus of the event. They were first given in 1953, at the 11th World Science Fiction Convention, and have been awarded every year since 1955. Over the years that the award has been given, the categories presented have changed; currently Hugo Awards are given in more than a dozen categories, and include both written and dramatic works of various types.

One of the most prestigious science fiction awards, the Hugo Awards have been termed as "among the highest honors bestowed in science fiction and fantasy writing".Works that have won have been published in special collections, and the official logo of the Hugo Awards is often placed on the winning books' cover as a promotional tool. The 2013 awards were presented at the 71st convention, LoneStarCon 3, in San Antonio, Texas, on September 1, 2013. The 2014 awards were presented at the 72nd convention, Loncon 3, in London, England on August 18, 2014.

Awarded for:

The best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous calendar year.

Award Organized By: World Science Fiction Society