All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Darwin Medal Award

Darwin Medal

Awards Type : InterNational Award

Organized Country : United Kingdom

First Award : 1890

The Darwin Medal is awarded by the Royal Society every alternate year for "work of acknowledged distinction in the broad area of biology in which Charles Darwin worked, notably in evolution, population biology, organismal biology and biological diversity".First awarded in 1890, it was created in memory of Charles Darwin and is presented with a £1000 prize. As with most of the Royal Society's medals, nominees must come from the Commonwealth of Nations, with the requirement that they be either a citizen of a nation within the Commonwealth or have lived in such a nation for at least three years before the nomination.Since its creation the medal has been awarded to 64 individuals, including Francis Darwin, Charles Darwin's son, and two married couples, Jack and Yolande Heslop-Harrison in 1982 and Peter and Rosemary Grant in 2002.

Award Organized By: Royal Society