All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Mohinder Amarnath Arjuna Award Awarded In 1982

Mohinder Amarnath

Mohinder Amarnath

Award Name : Arjuna Award

Year of Award : 1982

Award for : Sports and Games

Location : Patiāla, Punjab, India


Mohinder Jain Bhardwaj is an Indian former cricketer and current cricket analyst. He was born on 24 September 1950 in Patiala, India. He was the Man of the match of historic India’s first world cup win at Lords in 1983, thus becoming the vital part of the team. His contributions to Indian cricket team are really huge, particularly with India’s first world cup win. Many of those innings were indeed match winning too. Now he appears as current cricket analyst for many live telecast cricket matches on Indian television. His brother Surinder Amarnath was a Test player for India and another brother Rajinder Amarnath is a former first class cricket and current cricket coach.

He played 69 test matches and 85 ODIs for India where he earned 4378 and 1924 runs with batting average of 42.5 and 30.53 respectively. His test innings include 11 centuries and 24 half centuries while one day matches include two centuries and 13 half centuries. He made his test debut against Australia on 24 December 1969 and played the last match against West Indies in 1988. His first ODI was against England in 1975 while the last one against West Indies in 1989. He has been one among the finest Indian batsmen who knows to play pace balls beautifully and with ease. In majority of matches he played at number 3. He has also acted as a bowler and took 32 test wickets and 46 One Day wickets. 1982-83 season was one of his memorable ones where he accumulated over 1000 runs in the two series in just 11 matches against Pakistan and West Indies. His first test century was made at Perth at the WACA, known as the fastest pitch of the world. He was the top batman of that season and he repeated the same form in World Cup tournament too. Apart from winning Man of The series cup, he also won Man of the match in the most two critical matches – Semifinals and of course the finals. In 1982, he received the Arjuna Award.