All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Turing Award

Turing Award

Awards Type : InterNational Award

Organized Country : United States

First Award : 1966

The ACM A.M. Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to "an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community". It is stipulated that "The contributions should be of lasting and major technical importance to the computer field".The Turing Award is generally recognized as the highest distinction in computer science and the "Nobel Prize of computing".

The award is named after Alan Turing, mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester. Turing is often credited for being the key founder of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence.From 2007-2013, the award was accompanied by a prize of $250,000, with financial support provided by Intel and Google.Since 2014 the award has been accompanied by a prize of $1 million,with financial support provided by Google.

Awarded for:

Outstanding contributions in computer science.

Award Organized By: Association for Computing Machinery