All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Sachchidananda Vatsyayan Jnanpith Award Awarded In 1978

Sachchidananda Vatsyayan

Sachchidananda Vatsyayan

Award Name : Jnanpith Award

Year of Award : 1978

Award for : Literature

Location : Deoria, Uttar Pradesh, India


Sachchidananda Vatsyayan was a noted poet of Hindi literature. He is popularly known by his pen-name Ajneya. He was a critic and journalist also. He was an exponent of Nayi Kavita and Prayog is modern Hindi literature. He was the editor of 'Saptaks' and has also started Hindi newsweekly, Dinaman. He has translated many Hindi books into English, including his own and has also translated some books of world literature into Hindi. In 1978 he received Jnanpith award for Kitni Navon Men Kitni Bar. Sachchidananda Vatsyayan was born on 7 March 1911 in a tent at Kushinagar, Kushinagar district of Uttar Pradesh. His father Hirananda was an archaeologist, who was also a scholar of Sanskrit. His childhood was spent in many different places, including Gorakhpur, Lucknow, Nalanda, Udupi, Madras, Jalandhar, Jammu and Srinagar. 

He did Intermediate from Madras Christian College in 1927 and took B.Sc. in Industrial Science at Forman Christian College, Lahore. Though he joined MA, he didn’t complete the course and joined India’s freedom struggle movement. He worked under Bhagat Singh, Chandrashekhar Azad, Sukhdev and Yashpal. He has gone to jail also and spent there for about 4 years. Shekhar: Ek Jivani – trilogy was written when he was in prison. During World War II, he joined Indian Force for three years as a Captain and left when the war was over. After that he worked as an editor for many weekly and travelled throughout India and abroad. He has written a few travelogues as well. Arei Yayavar Rahega Yaad (1953), Kirnon ki khoj mein (1955) and Ek Boond Sahsa Uchhli (1960) are among those works. In 1965, he became Founder Editor of the newsweekly Dinaman of the Times of India Group. A few of his noted novels include - Nadi ke dweep (1952), Apne-apne ajnabi (1961) and Shekhar: Ek Jeevani. He was the co-writer of Barahkhambha (co-writer, 1987). His incomplete works are Chhaya mekhal and Beenu bhagat. His single play is Uttar Priyadarshi. His anthologies include - Bhagndoot (1933), Chinta (1942), Indradhanu raunde hue ye (1957), Ari o karuna prabhamaya (1959), Kitni naavon mein kitni baar (1967), Kyonki main usei jaanta hoon (1969), Pahle main sannata bunta hoon (1973), Aisa koi ghar aapne dekha hai (1986) and many more.